Healthy Recipes: Tomato Malunggay Pasta

My son loves pasta. But just like other kids, he seems to love plain pasta more than those with actual pasta sauces. This didn’t puzzle me so much as I know kids love bland taste. Anyhow, when I started my BLW (Baby Led Weaning) journey, I tried looking into food options which are healthier for my kiddo. And this is one of the recipes I sort of invented.

PicsArt_1413986986330

The basic idea is to use raw ingredients instead of commercially bought ones. So instead of a ready made pasta sauce, I used fresh tomatoes. I wanted my baby to love the taste of malunggay, a green leafy vegetable (commonly known as moringa, drumstick tree, horseradish tree, ben oil tree, or benzoil tree, according to Mr. Wikipedia) since it has high nutritional value. I already used this in one of the green smoothie recipe I posted before.

Here’s the complete list of ingredients and instructions. Enjoy!

-Pasta (I used spirals to make it more fun)
-3 tomatoes
-A handful of malunggay
-Garlic
-Onion
-Oil
-Cheese
-Pepper to taste (I used to omit salt when my son started eating solids, but you can add salt if you want)

Instructions:

  1. Slice the onions and garlic, then set aside
  2. Boil the tomatoes, pasta, and malunggay altogether (Busy mom, must save time). Another option is to exclude the malunggay and blend it raw later. I think this is healthier.
  3. Once pasta is cooked, set it aside and then take the tomatoes and malunggay
  4. Blend the tomatoes and malunggay. If you don’t have a blender, you can try using fork or mortar and pestle (I never tried it, but the idea is to get your tomatoes and malunggay combined with a consistency of a sauce)
  5. Heat the pan, add oil
  6. Sauté onions and garlic then add blended malunggay and tomatoes
  7. Season to taste
  8. Pour the sauce over the cooked pasta then top with lots and lots of cheese
  9. Optional: Serve with toasted or garlic bread

I cooked this when my son was about a 1 year old. He finished all of the serving! Personally, I didn’t like the taste so much, but as long as the kid enjoys it, I am one happy mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

